Grab a cuppa and settle in with our favourite new books for May, from a can’t-put-down romance to a heartwarming story of friendship you’ll want to share with all your friends…

Into My Arms, by Kylie Ladd. Published By Allen and Unwin, RRP $29.99

When Skye meets Ben their attraction is instantaneous and intense. Niether of them has ever felt more in synch – or in love – with anyone in their lives. What happens next will tear them both apart. Into My Arms is a searing love story and a gripping family drama – a shocking, haunting novel in the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Caroline Overington.

The kiss ignited something, blew it into being, and afterwards, all Skye could think about was Ben.?One day a woman meets a man and falls instantly and irrevocably in love with him. It hits her like a thunderbolt, and she has to have him, has to be with him, regardless of the cost, of the pain of breaking up her existing relationship. She has never felt more in synch-or in love-with anyone in her whole life. So this is how it feels, she thinks to herself, this is what real love feels like.?It’s like that for him too; he wants her in a way he’s never wanted anything or anyone before: obsessively, passionately, all-consumingly.? She has found her one true love, her soulmate, and he has found his. What happens next will tear them apart and unleash havoc onto their worlds.?

This brave, brilliant, electrifying novel from the acclaimed author of After the Fall and Last Summer, will move you deeply and shock you to your core. Love, lust and longing have rarely wielded such power, nor family secrets triggered such devastation.?

Fly Away, by Kristin Hannah. Published by Pan Macmillan, RRP $29.99

Firefly Lane became a touchstone novel in women’s lives. Across the world, women embraced the story of Tully and Kate’s enduring friendship. They laughed with Tully and cried with Kate and anguished over Tully’s fractured relationship with her mother.

Now, in Fly Away – a story that both connects to Firefly Lane and stands alone – Kristin Hannah returns to the world of these unforgettable characters…
How do you hold yourself together when your world has fallen apart…Fly Away is the story of three women who have lost their way and need each other – plus a miracle – to transform their lives.

An emotionally-complex, heart wrenching novel about love, family, motherhood, loss, and redemption, Fly Away reminds us that where there is life, there is hope and where there is love, there is forgiveness. Told with her trademark visceral storytelling and illuminating prose, Kristin Hannah reveals why she is one of the most beloved writers of our day.


The Yearning, by Kate Bell. Published by Simon and Schuster, RRP $17.99

It’s 1978 in an Australian country town and a dreamy teenaged girl’s world is turned upside down by the arrival of the substitute English teacher. Solomon Andrews is beautiful, inspiring and she wants him like nothing else she’s wanted in her short life.  ?Charismatic and unconventional, Solomon easily wins the hearts and minds of his third form English class. He notices the attention of one girl, his new neighbour, who has taken to watching him from her upstairs window. He assumes it is a harmless teenage crush, until the erotic love notes begin to arrive. ?Solomon knows he must resist, but her sensual words stir him. He has longings of his own, although they have nothing to do with love, or so he believes. One afternoon, as he stands reading her latest offering in his driveway, she turns up unannounced. And what happens next will torment them forever – in ways neither can imagine.


A Double Spring, by Juliet Darling. Published By Allen and Unwin, RRP $24.99

Raw and beautifully told, this is the story of Juliet Darling’s year of devastating grief after her partner was murdered by his schizophrenic son. It is also a story of the power of love. A Double Spring is about powerlessness and grief, families and friendship, fear and trust, and anger and love.

‘Nick died in the southern hemisphere in spring. Now I am in Paris in spring. We were to have been here together. I am experiencing a double spring. Double the bitterness, double the beauty.’?Juliet Darling’s memoir of the daily events surrounding the murder of her late partner, art curator Nick Waterlow, by his son Antony is a moving story of a deeply personal formative experience. It is a passionate and urgent look at the ordinariness of evil, the intractability of fate, and the interconnectedness of art and life. Ultimately it is a story about the power of love, and how love can be sustained through grief.

It is also a book about what it was like to live in the shadow of an impending death, a death that seemed to be foretold. It is about a grief that began long before death. For all involved, it seemed they were powerless to do anything to change the sinister course of events.?The story unfolds with utmost simplicity; stripped of any falsehood; refrained from comment as far as possible; it focuses on the everyday occurrences, the small banal events, which matter the most, and which form the greatest part of this tale of almost unbearable suffering.?


The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society, by Darien Gee. Published by Allen and Unwin, RRP 27.99

A poignant and heartwarming story about a group of women who form deep friendships through their love of scrapbooking – as memories are preserved, dreams are shared, and surprising truths are revealed. A novel about heart, about family and finding ourselves in places where we least expect from the bestselling author of Friendship Bread.

At Madeline’s Tea Salon, the cozy hub of the Avalon community, six women find their memories are shaping their future. Young Connie Colls, fiercely independent and full of promise longs for a past she never had. Isabel Kidd is anxious to move forward but is still paralysed by the consequences of her late husband’s love affair. After spending many years living a life on her own terms, Yvonne Tate finds that she can’t outwit her past. For Ava Catalina, reaching out to hold on to precious memories means rekindling old hurts while Frances Latham sees her dream for a daughter dashed when tragedy strikes. And then there’s irascible Bettie Shelton, founder and president of the Avalon Scrapbooking Society, who helps others create lasting memories of their past but finds the pages of her own albums empty. As the women gather to scrapbook the details of their lives, they discover that things are not always as they seem.?By turns humorous, wise, and deeply moving, The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society is a luminous reminder that the things we hold most dear will last a lifetime.