Finding herself trapped in a life she’d never dreamed of Ally Trasker begins to question her lot in life and wonders what went wrong.

After graduating from Art College she imagined herself living a creative life as a bohemian artist. Now, nothing could be further from the truth as Ally struggles to face each day in a thankless teaching job, her days filled with unappreciative, snotty nosed kids.

Things on the home front fare no better either as Ally begins to feels her relationship has gone stale too.

It’s no wonder that Ally envies Meg her best mate from her college days, whose launched herself headfirst into a thriving career as a designer. What’s more, along the way she snagged herself a gorgeous, adoring husband and produced a cute little baby boy to complete the trifecta.

But all is not as it seems with Meg, whose own seemingly perfect life is bordering on dangerous case of boredom which if not kept in check could prove devastating. And Ally is confronted with personal tragedy that forces her to look long and hard at her past, present and ultimately her future.

In the tradition of Maeve Binchy, Cathy Kelly and Marian Keyes Call Waiting is an engrossing and amusing first novel from Australian author Diane Blacklock, that urges you to think about the life you live and the life you love.